8 Ways part 3

RECAP: You probably haven’t read part one or part two. I have maybe 7-8 followers right now (THANK YOU!). But because you missed it, I decided that I was going to make-up for all of the romance that I have neglected in our relationship in 8 big ways.

This is the biggest way by far. I have been working on these changes for a while now, and I am confident enough in my ability to continue with my new good habits to introduce new ones, and to finally start talking about it!

So, I had a talk with my husband recently… He was worried about me a while back because since the baby I haven’t really taken care of myself like he used to. (Our son just turned a year old). We are about to hit our 9 year anniversary this month actually, so he has been there through everything,  including that time I went through major depression in college. He has been worried for a while that I might be headed back in that direction. He is starting to miss all of the little things that I used to do to make myself beautiful.

Those little things that used to matter back when you first dated, after 9 years you don’t really pay attention to them anymore, you got the guy. But they notice. They notice that you don’t wear that perfume that they like anymore. You throw your hair into a bun and call it a day, you never wear make-up because your busy with the baby and have no one to impress. (EXCEPT your husband), and who cares if your legs are hairy? You can just.wear.jeans. Ladies, ADMIT IT. We all probably do this, unless your one of those fitness nuts who lives to feel that burn when you work out (Don’t take that the wrong way, I wish I was more like you), but to the rest of you, think about it!

We accuse our husbands of never paying attention or noticing us, then when they do finally start noticing, we get mad at them because we think they are criticizing us. My husband asked in the kindest sweetest and most sincere way possible if I would start taking care of myself like I used to, because he knows that when I am taking care of myself, I hold myself differently, I am more sociable, have more energy, and I am happier.

Okay! Let’s do it!

For our anniversary, I am going to surprise him with some major changes.

Here’s my list of new habits that I am going to try my hardest to commit to!  My goal is to be more beautiful for my husband and to build healthier habits for my overall health and well-being.

Beauty Routine

Remembering the lotions, perfume, hair products, masks, and moisturizers. Getting more sun, keeping my nails groomed, taking multi-vitamins, drinking more water, keeping the legs shaved like when we first started dating.

SCREW THE CHEAP STUFF. I am done. My hair was thin enough, and now I am losing it so quickly that I contemplate ripping the rest out. It takes 4x the work to get it look good like it used to because I have been abusing it with cheap product. INVEST IN YOURSELF.

I am going back to my natural hair color. I have been dying my hair every month for the past 10  years and it shows. Now I am going to get a good cut, I have already colored it back to my natural color.  When I save up for it I am going to get some painted gradient highlights, then leave it alone, and let it heal.

I actually found an awesome hair line that is on the cheap side a few weeks ago. It is called “Not Your Mother’s”- NO I AM NOT BEING PAID or given any incentive to say this, I just discovered it and again feel like passing on the info to whoever might benefit.

https://nymbrands.com/

If you have any suggestions for affordable shampoos that make a difference, please share with me! It’s hard to know who to trust anymore with all of the incentives floating around. When I run out of this stuff, I am going to spring for something nicer and compare.

I am also breaking out the mousse, and the hairspray, teasing, and putting loads of effort into my hair daily again. ( I really do feel better when I feel pretty 🙂

Working Out

Before you shake your head check it out.

Right now, I am thinking if I can do 2 (6-10) minute work outs a day, I will be making a vast improvement on my over all health. I found these work-outs and they are the first one’s that have ever motivated me to work-out and keep up with. A lot of burn, in little time, without the need for equipment. That’s the stuff!

I figure if I can do two of her short work-outs a day, (focusing on different parts of the body every day), then I will feel motivated while not over worked.)

Another great one that I have known about for a while, and plan to do daily now, is the double chin work out. Simply lean your head back all the way, and pucker up for a big kiss. This works out your chin to get rid of that moon-face you hate so much.

This is one of the new additions to my healthy habits so I will let you know how this routine goes in a later post.

Some healing habits:

Magnesium oil: I can’t even begin to tell you the benefits, there are so many. It is something often overlooked. What I like about it, it’s applied to the skin for best absorption. So you mix the dry minerals with water and mist yourself every time you get out of the bath. How easy is that?

Here is the lowdown if you want more info.

Tea at bed time: Oodles of anti-oxidants, helps me skip the late night snack, helps me sleep and wind-down. PLUS I am adding Black strap molasses to my tea.

Benefits of Black Strap Molasses

1. Diabetes-Friendly Sweetener

If you have diabetes and a sweet tooth, you have a bit of a conundrum. While blackstrap molasses is derived from sugar and adds as many carbohydrates as other sugars, it may be digested more slowly, which may help stabilize blood sugar.

You can use blackstrap molasses in baking sweet treats. It’s what gives gingerbread cookies their distinctive rich flavor.

2. Bone Booster

Everyone knows that calcium is needed for strong bones, but not everyone knows the importance that magnesium plays in growing them.

Blackstrap molasses contains both calcium and magnesium, so it can help you guard against osteoporosis. About 5 tablespoons of blackstrap molasses contains 50 percent of the recommended daily allowance of calcium, 95 percent of iron, and 38 percent of magnesium.

Low levels of magnesium are also crucial in preventing diseases like osteoporosis and asthma along with others that can affect your blood and heart.

Bittersweet
In 2013, 1,400 tons of molasses spilled into the Honolulu Harbor and suffocated all of the sea life in the area.

3. Good for the Blood

People with anemia — a condition where your body doesn’t have enough red blood cells — often feel tired and weak. One type of anemia is caused by a lack of iron in the diet.

Blackstrap molasses is a good source of iron. About 5 tablespoons of blackstrap molasses contains 95 percent of your daily allowance of iron.

Besides adding it into recipes, you can add it to hot water and drink warm or cold as a dietary supplement.

4. Packed with Potassium

Bananas may be king when it comes to potassium, but blackstrap molasses is also packed with the stuff. Try mixing blackstrap molasses in with baked beans, or even use it as a basting glaze on chicken, turkey, or other meats. A spoonful straight can also give you a quick boost.

5. Hair De-Frizzer

Along with providing your body with important minerals, blackstrap molasses has been used to remove the frizziness in bleached, permed, or colored hair.

While pouring the sticky syrup directly into your hair is a pretty bad idea, it can be mixed with warm water and applied to the hair for 15 minutes. It can also be combined with other hair-healthy ingredients like your daily shampoo or coconut milk.

One of the major issues that I have with my chronic illness is how it effects my bones. I am losing bone at a really fast rate and that’s not even the worst part. Anyway, I am taking the vitamins that will help me grow my bones back faster. Not to mention, breastfeeding for the past year, I am losing even more bones than I would normally.

Getting off the artificial sweeteners:

I used to put so much sugar in my coffee that it tasted like syrup, then I switched to splenda, and I lost a lot of weight. That helped, but now I am worried about the long term effects it could have on my health. I am getting older and no longer feel invincible. I find myself asking my grandparents about the family history, low and behold there’s a lot of heart disease, and with my own illness, and the medications I have taken, I have endangered my own heart majorly. So I am going to start actually taking care of my heart.

While working out is a big part of that, another is diet of course. Keeping my blood sugars in the normal range not only will help my heart, but it will give me more energy and momentum to keep working out. So I have switched to… Bum Bum Ba Dum- AGAVE NECTAR.

It is an acquired taste. But so was splenda. I can do it! And I already have. It’s been maybe a month now. (I really need to stop sending my husband to the grocery store though because he keeps getting me the sweetener because that’s what I am used to.)

Turns out another trick to switching is weaning yourself off of the splenda first, which is what I have had to do. I went from 2-packets per cup of coffee, then worked my way to one before I was ready to start the agave. Apparently Splenda is addicting. I am not saying that because I read it somewhere. I am talking out of experience. It has been hard to kick. I like it better than sugar now in my coffee. Pretty sad.

Take advantage of the age of technology! (this is coming from a technophobe).

Okay, so after this discovery, I decided to embark on finding a simple body measurement tracker, and I would take some progress pictures, and present the numbers sealed in a bow to my husband on our anniversary, as a surprise. Then I came across this app…. and I am in LOVE. I am not an affiliate, and I am not getting paid or benefiting in any way by sharing it with you, I just think that it is the type of motivating app that I need, and perhaps you need to. It is a motivation app for making positive changes in your daily habits. Everything from working out to cleaning the house. It is full of pre-loaded suggestions and advice too. They really put a lot of work into it.

http://www.thefabulous.co/

phone_white_screenshot

This app is kinda perfect for the types of changes that I am trying to make right now.

Speaking of changes, a few more that I plan on making, include adding some more healthy supplements into my ritual. I have a chronic illness, and for the past few months I have been in agony. I am DONE with my medications, and I am taking the healthy approach to healing.


There will of course be more changes along the way. Right now I am keeping the list short, and making new habits a few at a time. I am hoping to give my husband something positive to notice for our anniversary. I will come back and update with before-and after pictures later, and perhaps do a follow-up on the results of these changes.

For now I hope that this realization helps you, whoever you may be, remember to better yourself for the one you love.

Finally, if your husband and your health aren’t enough of a reason to start making changes, don’t forget your body holds the holy spirit, and our bodies are a gift to us. God will heal us, but like with most things, we have to show him that we are willing to work for it, freeing ourselves from the demons that would rather destroy us. This is just another battle, and I am picking up the sword this time.

Don’t take their criticisms to heart, because their heart is in the right place- with you. -Emily of Shoe

Leave a Reply

